Google “Bulk” filter & DotD

This is a minor observation of my own behavior but I have Google Priority inbox turned on and noticed the other day that there are some extra folders available.  I am usually impressed with what Google does to help me save time but every once in a while I see something that gives me pause as I question Evil or Not Evil?

About the time that Groupon spurned them I realized that I was getting much less email from Deal of the Day sites in my main Inbox.  They weren’t even in the regular inbox and I honestly would not have noticed had I not had my blackberry with me at my desk.  I got a notification that I had a new message on the mobile but nothing showed up in my Inbox (priority or regular) and that confused me.  I did a quick search for the title and realized that I had missed about 100 group buying emails that had been filtered to Bulk.

Funny thing is that I didn’t miss them all that much wondering how many people are like me and might not even notice if DotD suddenly got filtered into some sort of inbox purgatory.  This might be a personalized rule for me because I was deleting a lot of them or it might be a global trend, either way it cleaned up my inbox a bit and if it is global this will hurt Groupon’s click through rates.

Noteworthy is that I also have new filters for Forums and Notifications.  Google has created a hierarchy in my email:

Priority Inbox> Inbox > Forums > Notifications > Bulk > SPAM

I used to check my spam box once in a while and I will admit that has fallen to near zero.  I wonder when Bulk trends toward zero also?

About svmoneyball

A lifelong student of silicon valley. I also tend to play a lot of Ultimate Frisbee.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

