Can Deal of the Day stay above the new Google fold?

Now I am not sure if this is something that is happening to other people but I figured that it was worth a quick note.  I have gmail like a few other people out there (Nov 2010, 193.3 M) and I use Priority Inbox.

Google Offers launched in San Francisco this week and I started getting email.  Very interesting to me that my inbox is labeling most Daily Deals sites as “Bulk” but Google Offers is filed under “Notifications”.  The not so subtle difference is that Bulk doesn’t go to my main Inbox but Notifications does.  See screen shots below.

Also you may notice the time stamps of the emails.  Anybody think that Google isn’t leveraging the knowledge of when people get, read and click through on email?  No proof but they have the information and can do interesting things based on that info.

Not saying, but just saying….

Other notes:

  • I downloaded the Google Shopper App and bought a deal.  I have to admit that I was impressed because it took me straight through Google checkout and was fairly frictionless.
  • Some marketing tips if you are sending stuff out for Priority Inbox and the “new fold”.
About svmoneyball

A lifelong student of silicon valley. I also tend to play a lot of Ultimate Frisbee.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

